Phorming a Phalanx

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
koewn
koewn's picture
Patreon SupporterDomains At War BackerSinister Stone of Sakkara BackerLairs And Encounters Backer
Joined: 2012-07-17 20:11
Phorming a Phalanx

Can you join two differently armored units into a Phalanx? The rules state "identically equipped with spears or polearms", with no mention of armor.

If possible, would the AC be inbetween the two merging units? So Heavy Inf. E and Light Inf. C (both spear and shield) would average to AC 4? (betwixt 6 and 2).

Kiero
Domains At War Backer
Joined: 2013-04-26 07:13

Purely from a versimilitude perspective, real phalanxes were probably a mixture anyway, with the best-equipped in the front ranks and flank files, and the guys who couldn't afford any armour at the back.

Alex
The Autarch
Joined: 2011-06-30 18:10

You can mix armor types, but not weapon types. As Kiero said, you often had heavily-armored guys up front and lightly-armored guys in the back.

 

koewn
koewn's picture
Patreon SupporterDomains At War BackerSinister Stone of Sakkara BackerLairs And Encounters Backer
Joined: 2012-07-17 20:11

Gotcha. Does that do anything for the AC of the phalanx?

Take the highest value and hand-wave the rest?

I could see going ahead and taking the highest AC value, then once the unit's half gone, the morale checks will cover the fact the front (well armored) line is gone.

Alex
The Autarch
Joined: 2011-06-30 18:10

You should average the ACs, on the assumption that once fighting begins it'll get mixed up. Also the AC will be used against missiles, which certainly can hit the rear ranks. 

 

Alex
The Autarch
Joined: 2011-06-30 18:10

This has been fixed in the draft. Thanks for noticing the lack of clarity.